Leadership and Administration

The School of Medicine is led by Mary E. Klotman, M.D., Dean and Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs. Dean Klotman works with a leadership team comprising nine vice deans, a chief diversity and a communications officer, as well as department chairs and center and institute directors. Associate and assistant deans also assist the dean with the oversight and management of the School’s 2,200 clinical and basic science faculty, more than 1,600 MD, health professions and PhD students, and approximately 7,000 staff employees.


Mary E. Klotman, MD

Mary E. Klotman, MD, Dean
Office Name: Office of the Dean
Campus mail: DUMC 2927

Video: Meet Dean Mary E. Klotman, MD

Viewpoint: Dean Klotman's Podcast

A nationally recognized leader in academic medicine, Mary E. Klotman, MD, was named dean of the Duke University School of Medicine and vice chancellor for health affairs at Duke University in January 2017. She assumed her new role on July 1, 2017. Prior to her appointment as dean, Dr. Klotman served with distinction as chair of the Department of Medicine in the Duke University School of Medicine for seven years.

Senior Leadership

Geeta  Swamy, MD

Geeta Swamy, MD

Senior Associate Dean for Regulatory Oversight & Research Initiatives in Clinical Research
Jill Boy

Jill Boy

Associate Dean and Chief Communications Officer
Stacy Palmer, Associate Dean for Strategic Planning & Chief of Staff

Stacy Palmer

Associate Dean for Strategic Planning and Chief of Staff

Associate Deans

Cory Ennis, MS

Cory Ennis, MS

Associate Dean for Clinical Research Information Systems
John Michnowicz

John Michnowicz

Associate Dean and Executive Director, Office of Research Administration