DMAA Awards

Established in 1968, the Medical Alumni Association Distinguished Awards were created to recognize those who make important contributions to the establishment and growth of the four-year medical school and to the world of medicine. The awards are designed to honor alumni and friends whose distinguished careers and unselfish contributions to society have added luster and prestige to the University and its School of Medicine. A committee appointed by the Dean of the School of Medicine selects the recipients from nominations solicited from alumni and medical school faculty.

Nomination Form  Award Descriptions 


2023 DMAA Awardees
Robert Lefkowitz

Lifetime Achievement

Robert J. Lefkowitz, MD

Chancellor’s Distinguished Professor of Medicine, Duke University School of Medicine
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator

About Dr. Lefkowitz

Watch Tribute Video

Louise Markert

Distinguished Alumna

Mary Louise Markert, PhD’81, MD’82, HS’82-’84,’84-’87

Professor Emeritus of Pediatrics, Division of Allergy and Immunology
Professor Emeritus of Immunology

About Dr. Markert

Watch Tribute Video

Kurt Newman

Distinguished Alumnus

Kurt D. Newman, MD’78

Retired, President and Chief Executive Officer, Children’s National Hospital

About Dr. Newman

Watch Tribute Video

Shelley Hwang

Distinguished Faculty

E. Shelley Hwang, MD, MPH

Mary and Deryl Hart Professor of Surgery
Vice Chair of Research of Surgery
Professor of Radiology
Disease Group Leader, Breast Cancer Program, Duke Cancer Institute

About Dr. Hwang

Watch Tribute Video

Kanecia Zimmerman

Emerging Leader

Kanecia O. Zimmerman, MD’07, HS’07-’11, 12-’15, PhD, MPH

Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Duke University School of Medicine

About Dr. Zimmerman

Watch Tribute Video

Kevin Saunders

Emerging Leader

Kevin O. Saunders, PhD’10

Associate Professor in Surgery
Associate Professor in the Department of Immunology
Associate Professor in Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
Associate Director of the Duke Human Vaccine Institute

About Dr. Saunders

Watch Tribute Video

Latin-19 Logo

Transformational Leadership

LATIN-19 Executive Team

Executive Team Members:
Viviana S. Martinez-Bianchi, MD
Gabriela M. Maradiaga Panayotti, MD
Leonor Corsino, MD, HS’06-’09, MHS’09
Rosa M. Gonzalez-Guarda, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN
Irene C. Felsman, DNP, MPH, RN
Pablo Friedmann
Rosa M. Solorzano, MD, MPH
Gabriela A. Nagy, PhD
Alejandro Peña

About Latin-19

Watch Tribute Video

2022 Awardees
David H. Adams, BS’79, MD’83

Distinguished Alumnus

David H. Adams, BS'79, MD'83

Marie-Josée and Henry R. Kravis Professor and chair, Department of Cardiovascular Surgery, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai; cardiac surgeon-in-chief, Mount Sinai Health System

About Dr. Adams

Watch Tribute Video

Michael Kastan

Distinguished Faculty

Michael B. Kastan, MD, PhD

William and Jane Shingleton Distinguished Professor of Pharmacology and Cancer Biology and Professor of Pediatrics, Duke University School of Medicine; Executive Director, Duke Cancer Institute

About Dr. Kastan

Watch Tribute Video

Diana McNeill

Distinguished Service

Diana B. McNeill, AB’78, MD’82, HS’87-’88

Professor of Medicine, Duke University School of Medicine

About Dr. McNeill

Watch Tribute Video

Laura Schanberg

Distinguished Alumna

Laura E. Schanberg, MD’84, HS’84-’91

Professor of Pediatrics, Duke University School of Medicine

About Dr. Schanberg

Watch Tribute Video

Blake Wilson

Honorary Alumnus

Blake S. Wilson, BSE’74, DSc, DEng, DMed (honoris causa), PhD’15

Director of the Duke Hearing Center
Adjunct Professor in the Department of Head and Neck Surgery & Communication Sciences, Duke University School of Medicine
Adjunct Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Consulting Professor in the Department of Biomedical Engineering, Pratt School of Engineering at Duke University

About Dr. Wilson

Watch Tribute Video