Basic Science News at Duke School of Medicine

Beratan, Mooney Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Two School of Medicine faculty were among five Duke faculty members elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) on April 30 in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. 

New NAS members with appointments in the School of Medicine were:  

  • David Beratan, PhD, R.J. Reynolds Professor of Chemistry, professor of biochemistry, and professor of physics. Beratan is developing theoretical approaches to understand the function of complex molecular and macromolecular systems. 

Eroglu Elected to American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Cagla Eroglu, PhD, Chancellor’s Distinguished Professor of Cell Biology and Neurobiology in the School of Medicine, is one of two Duke University faculty elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences for 2024. 

Duke Graduate Students Awarded Prestigious NSF Fellowships  

Graduate students at Duke University School of Medicine have been honored by the National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP).   

Alev M. Brigande and Daniel Quintero in the Duke Department of Neurobiology, along with Violet Beaty, Porter Krev Ellis, and Celeste Marin in the Duke Department of Biochemistry received fellowships, joining biochemistry student Dalal Azzam who earned the honor in 2022. 

Duckett, Li Elected to AAAS

Colin S. Duckett, PhD, and Chuan-Yuan Li, DSc, have been elected as 2023 fellows by the American Association for the Advancement of Science, one of the most distinguished lifetime honors in the scientific community.

The Power and Promise of RNA

Scientists at Duke University School of Medicine have long probed the mysteries of RNA, with an eye to harnessing its power for new and better therapies for cancer, diabetes, heart disease and more.