School of Medicine Faculty and Staff Honored with 2018 Teamwork and Diversity Awards

Thursday, November 1, 2018

Duke's Teamwork and Diversity Awards are given every year to employees who champion the values of collaboration, cooperation and communication as a team or demonstrate respect and value for people of different backgrounds and points of view.

One of this year's Teamwork Awards went to the NIH Response Team, a group of staff and faculty members from the Duke University School of Medicine, Duke University School of Nursing and Duke University who developed and implemented improvements to processes Duke uses to manage grants from the National Institutes of Health.

 Dave Bowersox, Ann Bradley, Larry Carin, Michael Dickman, Joanna Downer, Monica Elam, David Falcone, Chris Freel, Scott Gibson, Leigh Goller, Adrian Hernandez, Keith Hurka-Owen, Laura Jensen, Donna Kessler, Jim Luther, Jennifer McCallister, Nate Martinez-Wayman, John Michnowicz, Moria Montalbano, Michelle Rigsbee, Lindsey Spangler, Geeta Swamy, Mollie Sykes, Laurianne Torres, Raphael Valdivia. Photo by Les Todd.


A Diversity Award went to Duke Cancer Institute Deputy Director Steven Patierno, who has devoted his career to closing health care disparities.

 Duke Vice President for Institutional Equity & Chief Diversity Officer Benjamin Reese and Diversity Award winner Steven Patierno. Photo by Les Todd.


Read more about these awardees and others at Duke Today