Four PGC Faculty Receive Distinguished Professorships


Lingchong You, David D'Alessio, Sandeep Dave, Raphael Valdivia

Duke University has awarded distinguished professorships to 24 faculty members representing five Duke colleges and schools. The 2022 honorees, as well as those distinguished professors named in 2021 and 2020, were recognized by President Vincent Price and Provost Sally Kornbluth during a reception at the Karsh Alumni and Visitors Center Wednesday evening.

Appointment to a distinguished professorship is the highest honor the university can bestow upon a member of the faculty, recognizing faculty who are well-established members of the Duke academic community and who have also achieved distinction as creative scholars in their field or in their ability to transcend disciplines.

In addition to their outstanding records of achievement, Kornbluth noted that the recipients of distinguished professorships “have also demonstrated great promise for continued scholarly excellence.”

Price told honorees that while Duke is well known for its physical infrastructure, “What makes Duke truly exceptional is our human infrastructure—the faculty and staff who work tirelessly each day to educate the leaders of tomorrow, improve countless lives, and shape Duke’s identity.”

The PGC Distinguished Professorships are

Lingchong You, James L. Meriam Distinguished Professor of Biomedical Engineering, effective July 1, 2021*

David A D'Alessio, James B. Wyngaarden Distinguished Professor of Medicine, effective July 1, 2022

Sandeep S. Dave, Wellcome Clinical Distinguished Professor of Medicine, effective July 1, 2022

Raphael H. Valdivia, Nanaline H. Duke Distinguished Professor of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology, effective July 1, 2022

See full list of distinguished professorships