Two School of Medicine faculty receive NHGRI 2020 Genomic Innovator Awards

The National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI), part of the National Institutes of Health, has selected two Duke University School of Medicine faculty to receive 2020 Genomic Innovator Awards. NHGRI honored a total of 12 early career investigators in genomics. Each awardee will receive five years of funding.

The Genomic Innovator Award supports innovative work by genomics investigators who are in the early stages of their careers and are part of consortia or other team-science efforts. This award allows researchers the flexibility to pursue innovative research directions in genomics.

2020 Duke recipients

Yarui Diao, PhD
Assistant Professor of Cell Biology
“Analyze the molecular composition associated with non-coding DNA and RNA sequences.”

Craig Lowe, PhD
Assistant Professor of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
“Characterize the fastest evolving regions in the human genome.”