School of Medicine faculty members awarded distinguished professorships

Twelve faculty members in the Duke University School of Medicine have been awarded distinguished professorships. In total, Duke University awarded distinguished professors to 28 faculty members from eight Duke colleges and schools. Distinguished professorships are awarded to faculty who have demonstrated extraordinary scholarship in advancing science and improving human health. 



The 2020 recipients from the School of Medicine are:

David Ashley, Rory David Deutsch Professor of Neuro-Oncology

Nicole Calakos, Lincoln Financial Group Distinguished Professor of NeuroBiology

Michael Cohen-Wolkowiez, Kiser-Arena Distinguished Professor

Kathleen Cooney, George Barth Geller Distinguished Professor of Medicine

Vance Fowler, Florence McAlister Professor of Medicine

Steven George, Laszlo Ormandy Distinguished Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

Sue Jinks-Robertson, Mary Bernheim Distinguished Professor

Manesh Patel, Richard Sean Stack Distinguished Professor

Sallie Permar, Wilburt C. Davison Distinguished Professor

Ponugoti Rao, Richard and Kit Barkhouser Distinguished Professor

Albert La Spada, Lincoln Financial Group Professorship of Neurobiology

Scott Soderling, George Barth Geller Distinguished Professor of Molecular Biology