Narayan named Associate Dean for Curricular Affairs

Monday, October 26, 2020
Aditee Narayan, MD

Aditee Narayan, MD

"After a national search, Dr. Aditee Narayan has been named the new Associate Dean for Curricular Affairs for the Duke University School of Medicine, effective immediately,” said Edward Buckley, MD, Vice Dean for Education, Duke University School of Medicine. “Dr. Narayan has served as interim associate dean since March 2020 and has done an outstanding job leading the development and implementation of the School’s new Patient First curriculum.” 

As Associate Dean for Curricular Affairs, Dr. Narayan will lead the Office of Curricular Affairs and is responsible for the overall development, implementation, and ongoing renewal of the medical students’ educational program. She oversees medical student testing and assessment, program evaluation, and accreditation. Dr. Narayan is also responsible for assisting with the delivery of the Duke curriculum to Duke-NUS, our sister school in Singapore, and serves on the Joint Academic Committee of Duke-NUS.  

Dr. Narayan is Professor of Pediatrics in the School of Medicine. She received her MPH degree from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1999 and her MD degree from Duke University in 2000. Dr. Narayan completed her Pediatric residency, chief resident year, and Child Abuse Pediatrics Fellowship in Duke’s Department of Pediatrics before joining the faculty in 2006. She served as an Associate Program Director for the Duke Pediatric Residency Training Program for a decade before transitioning into the role of Director of Pediatric Undergraduate Medical Education. 

Dr. Narayan has held numerous national roles in multiple organizations including the Council on Medical Student Education in Pediatrics, the Association of Pediatric Program Directors, and the Helfer Society.  In 2016, she was awarded the Robert S. Holm Award, a national leadership and mentorship recognition by her peers, and in 2019 was a recipient of the Duke University School of Medicine Master Clinician/Teacher Award.