2024 GORDON G. HAMMES FACULTY TEACHING AWARD

This award is named for Gordon G. Hammes, Ph.D., Professor of Biochemistry and University Distinguished Professor, who served as Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs from 1991 through 1998. During his tenure as Vice Chancellor, Professor Hammes led a number of major initiatives to improve the scope and quality of our graduate program within the School of Medicine. The School of Medicine established this award in 2001 in his honor to recognize a faculty member for continuing excellence in teaching and mentoring, and for exemplary commitment to the education of graduate students within Basic Science Departments and Graduate Training Programs of the School of Medicine.

The Hammes Award is presented each year at the annual School of Medicine Spring Faculty Celebration. The award winner and distinguished nominees will be listed in the event program.

PREVIOUS HAMMES AWARD RECIPIENTS

2023	Dennis Ko, MD, PhD	Molecular Genetics and Microbiology & Cell Biology
2022	Terrence G. Oas, PhD	Biochemistry
2021	Beth Sullivan, PhD	Molecular Genetics & Microbiology
2020	John Pearson, PhD	Biostatistics & Bioinformatics
2019	Corinne M. Linardic, MD, PhD	Pediatrics, Pharmacology & Cancer Biology
2018	Jane F. Pendergast, PhD	Biostatistics & Bioinformatics
2017	Megan L. Neely, PhD	Biostatistics & Bioinformatics
2016	Andrew Alspaugh, MD	Medicine, Molecular Genetics & Microbiology
2015	Patrick Seed, MD, PhD	Pediatrics, Surgery, Molecular Genetics & Microbiology
2014	R. Lee Reinhardt, PhD	Immunology
2013	Christopher Nicchitta, PhD	Cell Biology
2012	Shiva Das, PhD	Radiation Oncology
2011	Anne West, MD, PhD	Neurobiology
2010	Douglas Marchuk, PhD	Molecular Genetics & Microbiology
2009	David Richardson, PhD	Biochemistry
2008	Theodore Slotkin, PhD	Pharmacology & Cancer Biology
2007	Mohamed Noor, PhD	Biology
2006	Blanche Capel, PhD	Cell Biology
2005	David McClay, Jr., PhD	Neurobiology
2004	Donald McDonnell, PhD	Pharmacology & Cancer Biology
2003	Daniel Lew, PhD	Pharmacology & Cancer Biology
2002	Jo Rae Wright, PhD	Cell Biology
2001	Ken Kreuzer, PhD	Biochemistry