Research Corner

This page provides updates from our students doing research, including the 3rd year and MSTP program





Friday August 2, 2019 - The Mary Duke Biddle Trent Semans Center for Health Education Great Hall 

  • Podium Presentation: 8:40 – 11:00 AM
  • Poster Presentation: 11:00 –12:45 PM
  • Presentation of Awards: 2:45 – 3:00 PM

The only day where all the students are on campus together; celebrate our students research by attending podium presentations and poster presentation!


In 3rd Year:

Duke is fortunate to have scholarships available for the Third Year Scholarly Research Experience. Join the Third Year Committee in congratulating the following students for their achievements. These are the programs who have notified students to date. We are awaiting decisions from a few other programs.

Amanda Farrell, Duke 2nd-year medical student, has been selected as inaugural recipient of a Grants for Emerging Researcher/Clinician Mentorship (G.E.R.M.) Program award by the Infection Diseases Society of America for zoonotic disease research for her Third Year project “Assessing the prevalence of Influenza D virus in swine environments and among swine workers in Northern Vietnam”.

The Office for Physician-Scientist Development Research (OPSD) Fellowships for Medical Students:

The Duke Physician-Scientist Institutional Award is designed to encourage rising third year medical students to undertake a basic/bench research project at Duke University, with preference given to those who plan to commit to doing a second third year.  The following students received these awards:

Burroughs Wellcome Fund (BWF) Research Fellowship for Medical Students Award (funding made possible by a BWF Institutional Grant, PI - Rasheed Gbadegesin, MD, MBBS, Third Year Study Program Director in Human Genomics and Genetics):

  • Diana Waters – completing a second 3rd year
  • Maria Gomez-Carabello – completing a second 3rd year
  • Vivian Lei – rising third year student

Poindexter Scholars in Basic Science Award:

  • Shelby Harper - completing a second 3rd year
  • Lindsey Olivere - completing a second 3rd year
  • Nicholas Drysdale – rising third year student

Dr. Bernard J. Carroll Research Scholarship:

The Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences offers a research scholarship for one (1) MS3 student who is conducting research under the direction of a full-time faculty member whose primary appointment is within the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences.

  • Caroline Leahy, Duke 2nd year medical student, has been selected to receive the scholarship for her Third Year project.

Eugene A. Stead Student Research Scholarships:

The Stead Committee typically awards 3-5 scholarships annually with a focus on third-year students who are working with mentors with a primary appointment in the Department of Medicine, or with basic science mentors. There are also Stead/Global Health scholarships for students interested in Global Health, which are offered jointly with the Hubert-Yeargan Center for Global Health. The following 2nd year students were awarded the scholarships for their upcoming Third Year projects:

  • Amanda Farrell
  • Apoorva Kandakatla
  • Norah Karlovich
  • Rachael Mahle
  • Courtney Richman
  • Kunal Shah

Duke-Singapore Student Scholar Fellowship:

Duke-Singapore Student Scholars are expected to spend 10 months doing mentored clinical or basic science research in Singapore, a country on the cutting edge of biomedical and health services. Opportunities for outreach in neighboring Asian countries are also possible. Two scholarships are available annually and this year, DNUS wishes to congratulate:

  • Abigail Clark  - rising third year student

Margolis Scholars in Medicine:

The Duke-Margolis Health Policy Center will fund up to two (2) Scholars enrolled in the Duke School of Medicine each academic year. Eligible candidates will be rising 3rd year students interested in conducting their Year 3 Scholarly Research project on a topic at the intersection of health policy and clinical practice; Scholars will be mentored under the direction of a Duke-Margolis core faculty member. The selected Scholars will be part of a university-wide Margolis Scholars program involving graduate students interested in health policy and management from departments across Duke.  Congratulations to this year’s first ever recipient:

  • Kelby Brown – rising third year student

The Duke CTSA Scholarship:

This is a two-year scholarship funded by the Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA). CTSA scholars will complete two years of mentored clinical research and complete a Master’s program. This year’s awardees are:

  • Liz Kobe
  • Hadley Reid
  • Kai Seely

The Duke Clinical & Translational Science Institute (CTSI) Scholarship:

This is a scholarship funded by a Pfizer Foundation grant.  CTSI scholars will complete one (1) year of mentored clinical research and the core Duke Clinical Research Training Program (CRTP) coursework curriculum. Upon successful completion of all requirements, CTSI scholars will receive the "Academic Core in Clinical Research" certificate. The scholarship provides CRTP tuition.

  • Sammy Halpern
  • Gloria Hong
  • Ryan Huang
  • Safa Kaleem – return for a second third year on the award
  • Preet Patel  - return for a second third year on the award