MSTP Interviews

A select number of applicants are invited to visit Duke between September through the middle of January. The two-day MSTP visit consists of interviews with the MSTP admissions committee and individual faculty meetings as well as the School of Medicine MMI. The typical visit involves a two-night stay, with arrival on Wednesday and departure after 6 pm on Friday.  Please see dates below.

Choose a Date

After receiving an invitation to visit, the applicant selects a date through the DukeMed Application website: https://admissions.duhs.duke.edu/main. As the applicant clicks on various dates, the web client will indicate which dates are currently available for MSTP interviews. The applicant registers for the date on the DukeMed Application website.

MSTP Interview Date Pairs for 2018-19

SEPTEMBER 2019
Thursday, September 19 and Friday, September 20
Thursday, September 26 and Friday, September 27

OCTOBER 2019
Thursday, October 3 and Friday, October 4
Thursday, October 10 and Friday, October 11
Thursday, October 24 and Friday, October 25

NOVEMBER 2019
Thursday, November 14 and Friday, November 15
Thursday, November 21 and Friday, November 22

DECEMBER 2019
Thursday, December 5 and Friday, December 6
Thursday, December 12 and Friday, December 13

JANUARY 2020
Thursday, January 9 and Friday, January 10
Thursday, January 16 and Friday, January 17

Faculty Interview Preferences
One of the goals for the visit is for the applicant to talk with Duke faculty members whose research is of interest to them. The applicant will meet with a small group of MSTP admissions committee members: Dr. Chris Kontos, director, Dr. Anne West, associate director, Andrea Liu, Assistant Dean of Admissions and MSTP and one or two others. In addition to this admissions committee interview, each applicant will have opportunities to talk with faculty members whose research is of interest to the applicant. Applicants assist in making these matches by identifying twenty faculty members with whom they would like to meet, listing the twenty faculty members in rank order, beginning with the first choice. MSTP makes every effort to arrange interviews with about four to six of these people. Applicants should feel free to add any information not included in the application that might help in matching their interests to those of Duke faculty members. Information about faculty members' research interests can be found on the web sites of Duke's various basic medical science programs, biosci.mc.duke.edu/, www.bme.duke.edu/, and on the participating faculty page of this web site. At least three weeks prior to the visit, the list of fifteen preferred faculty interviewers should be sent to Tiwonda Johnson Blount: mstp@duke.edu, 919-668-5528.

Transportation
Applicants are responsible for their own transportation from the airport to the hotel.  The airport is about a half-hour drive from our campus, but roads can be congested during late afternoon and early evening: the drive can stretch to as much as forty-five minutes at the evening rush hour.  The hotel will provide shuttle service back and forth to our office or to any campus location.  MSTP will provide transportation for your return to the airport. Applicants should arrange for flights departing at 6 pm or later. This schedule allows a little over an hour for baggage check and airport security prior to departure of their flights. If no flights reasonably fit this schedule, visitors should contact the program office to request accommodations for an additional night.

Lodging
Private rooms for visiting applicants are reserved at a nearby hotel, with the room billed directly to MSTP. If applicants have other plans for staying in the area, they are asked to notify the MSTP office so that rooms are not reserved for them.

The Final Schedule and Further Instructions

Once the program receives an applicant's preferences for faculty interviews, the MSTP interview schedule is arranged. At that time an email message is sent containing schedule details, maps, hotel confirmation number, a more detailed description of plans for the visit, and directions to the MSTP office.

Invited applicants should contact Tiwonda Johnson-Blount with any questions about the visit:
Duke Medical Scientist Training Program
Telephone 919.668.5528
MSTP@duke.edu