SoM Faculty Elected Members of Association of American Physicians

Tuesday, April 24, 2018

Four School of Medicine faculty members were elected to the Association of American Physicians at the AAP/ASCI/APSA Joint Annual Meeting held April 20-22. Membership in this organization is a distinction recognizing excellence and outstanding achievement:

Adrian Hernandez, MDAdrian Hernandez, MD, Medicine
Vice Dean for Clinical Research

Dr. Hernandez leads research programs focused on understanding population health, generating real-world evidence, and improving patient-centered outcomes through development of new therapies and better care delivery in the national health system.


Laura Kristin Newby, MDLaura Kristin Newby, MD, Medicine
Professor of Medicine

Dr. Newby researches the process and treatment of acute and chronic coronary artery disease and systems issues for delivery of care to patients with these illnesses. 



John Sampson, MD, PhD, MBA, MHSc,John Sampson, MD, PhD, MBA, MHSc, Neurosurgery
Robert H., M.D. and Gloria Wilkins Professor of Neurosurgery 

Dr. Sampson’s current research activities involve the immunotherapeutic targeting of a tumor-specific mutation in the epidermal growth factor receptor. Approaches used to target this tumor-specific epitope include unarmed and radiolabeled antibody therapy and cell mediated approaches using peptide vaccines and dendritic cells.

Kevin Schulman, MD, MBAKevin Schulman, MD, MBA, Medicine
Professor of Medicine
Director, Center for Clinical and Genetic Economics
Research Professor of Global Health

Dr. Schulman’s research interests include economic evaluation in clinical research; health services research and policy, including access to care and the impact of reimbursement and regulatory policies on clinical practice; and medical decision making, especially in patients with life-threatening conditions.