Seven SoM Physician-Scientists selected to receive Strong Start Awards

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Seven School of Medicine faculty members have been selected to receive inaugural Physician-Scientist “Strong Start” awards. The School of Medicine created the awards program in 2016, funded with a gift from the Duke Endowment, to support promising, new physician-scientists at Duke as they develop independent research programs.  Each recipient will receive $70,000 over one year.

2017 Strong Start Award Recipients

Mehreen Arshad, MBBS,
Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatrics



Phuong Doan, MD,
Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine



Katherine Garman, MD,
Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine



Christopher Holley, MD, PhD,
Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine



Ravi Karra, MD,
Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine



Amanda MacLeod, MD,
Assistant Professor, Department of Dermatology



Jonathan Riboh, MD,
Assistant Professor, Department of Orthopedic Surgery


“The career path for physician-scientists can be very challenging, requiring years of both clinical and scientific training,” said Andrew Alspaugh, MD, professor of medicine and molecular genetics and microbiology, and director of the Strong Start awards program “The goal of this awards program is to provide mentoring and financial resources to support these young faculty members.”

“Physician-scientists have a unique and critical role at the interface between science and medicine, and their careers need a different kind of nurturing,” said Nancy C. Andrews, MD, PhD, dean, Duke University School of Medicine. “I appreciate all of hard work that Dr. Alspaugh and his colleagues have put into this program and am thrilled for our very talented award recipients.”

The program is designed to integrate with other Duke initiatives that train physician-scientists including the Medical Scientist Training Program (MD-PhD students) and the Lefkowitz Society (clinical residents and fellows).

The next call for submissions will be in spring 2018.