School of Medicine names 2021 ADVANCE-UP Scholars

Friday, January 8, 2021
Front view of the Trent Semans Center for Health Education and surrounding lawn. text: 2021 Advance-up Scholars

The School of Medicine Office for Faculty is pleased to announce​ the 2021 ADVANCE-UP Scholars!

ADVANCE-UP (Academic DeVelopment Advocacy Networking, Coaching and Education for Underrepresented Populations) is a year-long program that provides in-depth opportunities for academic development, mentoring, and networking for faculty from underrepresented racial and ethnic backgrounds. The program aims to address the challenges that underrepresented faculty encounter in academic medical centers and ultimately seeks to create a network of scholars that will enhance the sense of community among underrepresented faculty, foster timely promotion, and increase representation in leadership positions. 

2021 ADVANCE-UP Scholars:

Diandra Ayala-Peacock, MD; Trinitia Cannon, MD; Alex Cravanas, MD, MBA; Jeremy Grove, PhD;

  • Diandra Ayala-Peacock, MD, Radiation Oncology
  • Trinitia Cannon, MD, Head and Neck Surgery & Communication Sciences
  • Alex Cravanas, MD, MBA, Anesthesiology
  • Jeremy Grove, PhD, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Larry Jackson, MD; Chandler Long, MD; Hector Martinez-Wilson, MD, PhD; Gillian Noel, MD

  • Larry Jackson, MD, Medicine
  • Chandler Long, MD, Surgery
  • Hector Martinez-Wilson, MD, PhD, Anesthesiology
  • Gillian Noel, MD, Pediatrics

Keisha-Gaye O'Garo, Psy.D.; Waleska Pabon-Ramos, MD, MPH; Victoria Parente, MD; Joanna Robles, MD

  • Keisha-Gaye O'Garo, Psy.D., Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
  • Waleska Pabon-Ramos, MD, MPH, Radiology
  • Victoria Parente, MD, Pediatrics
  • Joanna Robles, MD, Pediatrics

Jonathan Velez-Rivera, MD;  Vanisha Wilson, MD

  • Jonathan Velez-Rivera, MD, Medicine
  • Vanisha Wilson, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Past and current scholars