Congratulations LEADER 2021 Graduates!

Tuesday, July 27, 2021
SOM Building and LEADER banner

Congratulations to the 2021 LEADER program graduates! The LEADER Program is an interactive 5-month series designed for junior faculty who are leading a research group. The program helps faculty hone their leadership skills in order to build their research team, manage a talented group of people, deftly navigate conflict, and inspire others to do their best.  This year’s program included sessions on the topics of leading with emotional intelligence, learning to be an effective mentor, fostering inclusion in your research space, developing negotiation skills, managing conflict with confidence and balancing competing priorities. This program provides a unique opportunity to work with a diverse and multidisciplinary group of faculty and to network with other researchers from across the university.


2021 LEADER Cohort:

  • Stephen Balevic, MD, MHS, Pediatrics
  • Maria Blasi, PhD, Medicine
  • Nathan Boucher, DrPH, MS, MPA, Medicine
  • David Brown, MD, PhD, Surgery

  • Nancy Crego, PhD, School of Nursing
  • Simon Davis, PhD, Neurology
  • Michael Devinney, MD, PhD, Anesthesiology
  • Dorothy Dow, MD, Pediatrics

  • David Eagle, PhD, Duke Global Health Institute
  • Amanda Eudy, PhD, Medicine
  • Timothy Faw, DPT, PhD, Orthopaedic Surgery
  • Marat Fudim, MD, Medicine

  • Zachary Healy, MD, PhD, Medicine
  • Tarannum Jaleel, MD, MHSc, Dermatology
  • Brystana Kaufman, PhD, Population Health Sciences
  • Melissa Kay, PhD, Duke Global Health Institute

  • Sarah Kelleher, PhD, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
  • Trevor Lentz, PhD, PT, MPH, Orthopaedic Surgery
  • Robert McGarrah, MD, Medicine
  • Jamila Minga, PhD, Obstetrics and Gynecology

  • Carlene Moore, PhD, Neurology
  • Marta Mulawa, PhD, School of Nursing
  • Kartik Nayak, PhD, Computer Science
  • Nwora Okeke, MPH, Medicine

  • Lindsay Rein, MD, Medicine
  • Kristal Riska, AuD, PhD, Head and Neck Surgery & Communication Sciences
  • Jennifer Rogers, MD, Medicine
  • Matthew Rubach, MD, Medicine

  • Rebecca Sadun, MD, PhD, Medicine
  • Pixu Shi, PhD, Biostatistics & Bioinformatics
  • Corinna Sorenson, PhD, Population Health Sciences
  • Allison Stafford, PhD, School of Nursing

  • Neeraj Surana, MD, PhD, Pediatrics
  • Joshua Thaden, MD, PhD, Medicine
  • Gayani Tillekeratne, MD, Medicine
  • James White, PhD, Medicine

  • Ran Xiao, PhD, School of Nursing
  • Jichun Xie, PhD, Biostatistics & Bioinformatics
  • Ting Yang, MD, PhD, Medicine
  • Muhammad Zafar, MD, Pediatrics

  • Danyang Zhuo, PhD, Computer Science


Applications for the 2022 LEADER Program will open this fall. Visit the LEADER webpage for more information or contact the Office for Faculty at