Congratulations to Fall 2019 AΩA Inductees

Tuesday, August 27, 2019
AOA Logo

Twice a year the Alpha Omega Alpha (AΩA​) Medical Honor Society elects a small number of new members.  The criteria include scholastic achievement, leadership capabilities, ethical standards, fairness in dealing with colleagues, demonstrated professionalism, achievement and/or potential for achievement in medicine, and a record of service to the school and community at large. Membership in AOA is a distinction that accompanies a physician throughout his or her career. In the fall the society elects a small number of faculty and alumni. The competition is especially stiff for faculty as only 3 are elected each year.

Congratulations to the following members of our community who were elected to the Duke University School of Medicine chapter of the Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society for the fall 2019.


Julia Black, Helen Daifotis, Heather Frank, Shelby Harper

Julia Black, Helen Daifotis, Heather Frank, Shelby Harper

Joshua Helmkamp, Stephen Kirchner, Amanda Lucier, Lyra Olson

Joshua Helmkamp, Stephen Kirchner, Amanda Lucier, Lyra Olson

Eleanor Semmes, Rebecca Vernon

Eleanor Semmes, Rebecca Vernon


Georgia Beasley, MD, MHS, Assistant Professor of Surgery; Genevieve Fouda, MD, PhD,  Associate Professor of Pediatrics; Andrew Peterson, MD, MPH, Professor of Surgery

Georgia Beasley, MD, MHS, Assistant Professor of Surgery; Genevieve Fouda, MD, PhD,  Associate Professor of Pediatrics; Andrew Peterson, MD, MPH, Professor of Surgery