Congrats 2021 LEADER cohort!

Monday, December 21, 2020

The School of Medicine Office for Faculty is pleased to announce the 2021 LEADER participants.

The Leadership Development for Researchers (LEADER) Program is designed for junior faculty who are leading a research group and driving their own research agenda. The course provides insight into leadership and team building as well as direction on how to develop and manage a scientific laboratory or research program, how to improve productivity, and how to harness creativity and innovation. The program was developed to bridge the gap between the scientific expertise that led individuals to a career in academic medicine, and the management skills that will be required to succeed as the leaders of small business units. 

Faculty in this program were competitively selected to participate. Congratulations to the 2021 LEADER participants!


2021 LEADER Cohort:

  • Stephen Balevic, MD, MHS, Pediatrics
  • Maria Blasi, PhD, Medicine
  • Nathan Boucher, DrPH, MS, MPA, Sanford School of Public Policy and School of Medicine
  • David Brown, MD, PhD, Surgery
  • Nancy Crego, PhD, School of Nursing
  • Simon Davis, PhD, Neurology
  • Michael Devinney, MD, PhD, Anesthesiology
  • Dorothy Dow, MD, Pediatrics
  • David Eagle, PhD, Duke Global Health Institute
  • Amanda Eudy, PhD, Medicine
  • Timothy Faw, DPT, PhD, Orthopaedic Surgery
  • Marat Fudim, MD, Medicine
  • Zachary Healy, MD, PhD, Medicine
  • Tarannum Jaleel, MD, MHSc, Dermatology
  • Brystana Kaufman, PhD, Population Health Sciences
  • Melissa Kay, PhD, Duke Global Health Institute
  • Sarah Kelleher, PhD, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
  • Trevor Lentz, PhD, PT, MPH, Orthopaedic Surgery
  • Robert McGarrah, MD, Medicine
  • Jamila Minga, PhD, Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Carlene Moore, PhD, Neurology
  • Marta Mulawa, PhD, School of Nursing
  • Kartik Nayak, PhD, Arts & Sciences
  • Nwora Okeke, MPH, Medicine
  • Lindsay Rein, MD, Medicine
  • Kristal Riska, AuD, PhD, Head and Neck Surgery & Communication Sciences
  • Jennifer Rogers, MD, Medicine
  • Matthew Rubach, MD, Medicine
  • Rebecca Sadun, MD, PhD, Medicine
  • Pixu Shi, PhD, Biostatistics & Bioinformatics
  • Corinna Sorenson, PhD, Population Health Sciences
  • Allison Stafford, PhD, School of Nursing
  • Neeraj Surana, MD, PhD, Pediatrics
  • Joshua Thaden, MD, PhD, Medicine
  • Gayani Tillekeratne, MD, Medicine
  • James White, PhD, Medicine
  • Ran Xiao, PhD, School of Nursing
  • Jichun Xie, PhD, Biostatistics & Bioinformatics
  • Ting Yang, MD, PhD, Medicine
  • Muhammad Zafar, MD, Pediatrics
  • Danyang Zhuo, PhD, Arts & Sciences