Brigid Hogan Receives Lifetime Achievement Award from FASEB

Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Brigid L. M. Hogan, PhD

Brigid L. M. Hogan, PhD, chair emeritus of Duke’s Department of Cell Biology, and George Barth Geller Professor in the School of Medicine, has received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology.

The award recognizes women whose outstanding career achievements in biological science have contributed significantly to the understanding of a particular discipline through scientific achievements, the training of students and postdoctoral fellows, and contributions to the broader scientific community. 

Recognized as a pioneer in the field of developmental biology, Dr. Hogan was one of the first scientists to isolate members of the Hox gene complex in mammals and highlight the role of these genes in controlling anterior-posterior patterning in embryos across evolution. She developed techniques that expanded the study of molecular genetics and embryology in mouse models and has applied these approaches to address a wide range of basic questions at the forefront of developmental biology and, more recently, to address problems in airway disease and regeneration. Dr. Hogan authored 240 peer reviewed publications, 45 book chapters/ reviews, and one book. She also contributed to five U.S. patents. 

Brigid Hogan is richly deserving of this award for her pioneering work in developmental biology and the mechanisms of lung disease and stem cell-mediated repair. Moreover she has been tireless advocate for a  generation of young scientists in her fields, with rigorous training and generous support in her own laboratory, the Department of Cell Biology, and more broadly in Cold Spring Harbor courses on mouse transgenics to study development. We congratulate her on this prestigious award recognizing her significant scientific accomplishments. - Scott Soderling, PhD, Professor and Chair of Cell Biology

Dr. Hogan is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Medicine, and European Molecular Biology Organization, and an elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the Royal Society of London. In 2015, she was awarded the Society for Developmental Biology’s Lifetime Achievement Award.