Michelle Winn Inclusive Excellence Awards

The Duke University School of Medicine’s Office of Equity, Diversity & Inclusion established this Award in 2016 to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to diversity and inclusion within the School of Medicine community.

This Michelle P. Winn Inclusive Excellence Award is presented annually to individuals in our School who exemplify excellence, innovation, and leadership in helping to create a more diverse and inclusive environment.

The recipients of the year’s Winn Inclusive Excellence Awards are:  

  • Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT) student Amanda Clarke, MA (trainee award) 
  • Administrative Manager Christie McCray, MEd (staff award) 
  • Medical student Sonali Biwas (student award) 
  • Associate Professor of Neurology Andrew Spector, MD (faculty award)

Read about the 2022 Winn recipients here.

Nominations should provide specific evidence in one or more of the following areas:

  • Initiation of innovative approaches to foster equity, diversity and inclusion.
  • Commitment to creative learning and education strategies related to diversity, equity, inclusion, bias, and/or healthcare disparities.
  • Track record of mentoring underrepresented learners, staff, or faculty.
  • Role model of inclusive leadership behaviors that positively impact the School of Medicine.
  • Community engagement/service with a focus on improving the care of diverse patient populations.


M P Winn

Michelle Winn, MD, associate professor of Nephrology in the Department of Medicine, (photo, left) passed away in July 2014. She came to Duke in 1992 as an intern and undertook residencies in psychiatry and medicine before focusing her career on nephrology and joining the faculty. She was a wonderful clinician, a generous mentor, and an esteemed physician-scientist who was respected and beloved by her colleagues and deeply committed to diversity and inclusion and to the careers of younger physicians and scientists who orbited around her. 

Any member of the School of Medicine may submit a nomination for the award and we invite and encourage you to do so. The nominations review committee will use selection criteria to determine awardees from each of these categories: student, staff, faculty, trainee, and postdoc. Nomination letters should include specific examples of the individual’s exemplary achievements and contributions towards inclusive excellence by means of service, leadership, research, or education.