The Michelle Winn Inclusive Excellence Award

Award recipients from Ceremony

ODI icon


Thank you to everyone who submitted nominations for the 2019 Michelle Winn Inclusive Excellence Award. The winners of this award were announced at our Inclusion Council Meeting on Friday, June 14, from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. in the Great Hall of the Trent Semans Center.

The Office of Diversity & Inclusion established the Michelle Winn Inclusive Excellence Award award in 2016 to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to diversity and inclusion within the Duke School of Medicine community. The award is named for Michelle Winn, MD, Associate Professor of Nephrology in the Department of Medicine, who passed away in July 2014. Dr. Winn was respected and beloved by her colleagues and deeply committed to diversity and inclusion and to the careers of younger physicians and scientists who orbited around her. This award is given annually to a Duke Health community member who has exemplified excellence, innovation, and leadership through helping create a more diverse and inclusive environment.

Every year all School of Medicine faculty, staff, trainees, and health professions students are invited to nominate a student, staff, trainee (i.e. intern, resident, or fellow) or faculty member in the School of Medicine for this important award. One staff member and one faculty member may be chosen, while multiple trainees may receive the award. Nominations should include specific examples of the individual’s exemplary achievements and contributions towards inclusive excellence by means of service, leadership, research, or education.

Winn Awards
The winners of this year's Michelle P. Winn Inclusive Excellence Awards include Erica Taylor, MD (faculty), Joseph English, MHA (staff), Shaunte McKay, MD, and Dinushika Mohotitige, MD, MPH (fellow and resident), and Delisa Clay, Yusra Iftikhar, Terrell Jones, and Megan Kelly (students). Read about those awards here.


Winn Award


The 2018 recipients of the Michelle Winn Award were Nadine Barrett, PhD, MA (faculty), Melissa Segal, LCSW (staff), Charlotte Gamble, MD, MPH, (resident), and Gabriela Nagy, PhD, (fellow). In addition both Joshua Davidoff, MHS, and Krystina Quow, MD, received the award for students. Read more about the winners here.

The 2017 Awardees were:

(Award recipients in italics from left, Kenny Railey, MD, Assistant Chief Diversity Officer, Aladine Elsamadicy, B.E. MS4 , Michael On'Gele, MS3, Dean Klotman, Randall Grimes, MS,  Duke Human Vaccine Institute, Delbert Wigfall, MD, Associate Dean for Medical Education, Judy Seidenstein, Chief Diversity Officer, Jeanine Holland, Office of Diversity & Inclusion)