Leadership Advisory Council on URM Faculty

In the fall of 2015, Dean Nancy Andrews appointed a School of Medicine Leadership Advisory Council on Underrepresented Minority (URM) Faculty. The council partnered with Dean Andrews and the School’s senior leadership team to bring to the forefront issues of recruitment, retention and leadership development that URM faculty face at Duke. The council meets with the dean and the senior leadership group throughout the year to address current opportunities and challenges, identify best practices and recommendations, and implement strategies to “move the needle” to ensure inclusive excellence. 

“We believe that this council will contribute to our ongoing efforts and continued commitment to create a truly diverse and enriched workforce and to foster a culture of inclusion and transparency among our faculty, staff and students,” said Judy Seidenstein, Chief Diversity Officer, School of Medicine.


Monique Anderson, M.D.

Bryan Batch, M.D.

Nadine Barrett, Ph.D.

Sherilynn Black, Ph.D.


Leonor Corsino, M.D.

Loren Del Mar Pena, M.D.

Kafui Dzirasa, M.D., Ph.D.



Njira Lugogo, M.D.

Viviana Martinez-Bianchi, M.D.

Kenny Railey, M.D.

Kevin Thomas, M.D.


Delbert Wigfall, M.D.

Ebony Boulware, M.D.
Special Consultant