School of Medicine D&I Delegates

The School of Medicine Diversity and Inclusion Delegates are a group of appointed diversity and inclusion leaders from across the School of Medicine who have defined role, structure, and protected time/compensation to facilitate transfer of diversity best practices into local work units in partnership with ODI. The Delegates are members of the broader SOM Inclusion Council, made up of faculty, staff, and trainees from across the School.

The 57 current D&I leaders within the School of Medicine, by location, are as follows:

*Indicates Departmental D&I lead
+Indicates guest member

     

Anesthesiology

Adeyemi Olufolabi*, Professor of Anesthesiology
adeyemi.olufolabi@duke.edu

Jennifer Dominguez*, Assistant Professor
jennifer.dominguez@duke.edu

Biochemistry

Michael Boyce,* Associate Professor of Biochemistry
michael.boyce@duke.edu

Biostatistics & Bioinformatics

Laine Thomas,* Associate Professor of Biostatistics and Bioinformatics
laine.thomas@duke.edu

Cell Biology

Jennifer Carbrey*, Assistant Research Professor of Cell Biology
jennifer.carbrey@duke.edu

Pia Rodriguez Salazar+, graduate student
mariapia.rodriguez.salazar@duke.edu

Center for Brain Imaging & Analysis

Sharena Ballard*, Program Coordinator
sharena.ballard@duke.edu

Dermatology

Sarah Wolfe*, Assistant Professor in Dermatology
sarah.wolfe@duke.edu

Duke Cancer Institute

Steve Patierno*, Professor of Medicine
Steven.patierno@duke.edu 

Duke Clinical Research Institute (DCRI)

Dana McDonald*, Director, Human Resources
dana.mcdonald@duke.edu

Duke Global Health Institute (DGHI)

Kimberly McNeil,* Administrative Coordinator
km.walker@duke.edu 

Sara Legrand,* Associate Research Professor of Global Health
sara.legrand@duke.edu 

Duke Human Vaccine Institute (DHVI)

Kevin Saunders*, Associate Professor in Surgery
kevin.saunders@duke.edu 

Duke Molecular Physiology Institute (DMPI)

Michelle Arlotto*, Research Scientist
michellee.arlotto@duke.edu

Lisa Poppe*, Research
lisa.poppe@duke.edu

Family Medicine & Community Health

Nadine Barrett*, Assistant Professor in Family Medicine and Community Health
nadine.barrett@duke.edu

Kenyon Railey*, Assistant Professor in Family Medicine and Community Health
kenyon.railey@duke.edu

Head and Neck Surgery

Charles Woodard*, Associate Professor, Head & Neck Surgery & Communication Sciences
charles.woodard@duke.edu 

Immunology

Ed Miao*, Instructor
edward.miao@duke.edu

Medical Education

Nancy Knudsen+, Assistant Dean of Learning Environment
nancy.knudsen@duke.edu

Medicine

Kevin Thomas+, Associate Professor of Medicine
kevin.thomas@duke.edu

Laura Svetkey*, Professor of Medicine
laura.svetkey@duke.edu

Molecular Genetics and Microbiology

Lawrence David*, Assistant Professor
lawrence.david@duke.edu

Multicultural Resource Center

Maureen Cullins+, Director
maureen.cullins@duke.edu 

Neurobiology

Melissa Segal*, Senior Business Manager
melissa.segal@duke.edu

Neurology

William Alexander, Director of Communications
william.alexander@duke.edu

Andrew Spector,* Associate Professor of Neurology
andrew.spector@duke.edu

Neurosurgery

Priscilla M. Graham, MBA, Director of Human Resources
priscilla.graham@duke.edu

Isaac Karikari*, Associate Professor of Neurosurgery
isaac.karikari@duke.edu

Obstetrics and Gynecology

Sarahn Wheeler*, Assistant Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology
sarahn.wheeler@duke.edu

Office of Diversity and Inclusion

William Alexander, Director of Communications
william.alexander@duke.edu

Johnna Frierson, Assistant Dean, Graduate & Postdoc Diversity and Inclusion
johnna.frierson@duke.edu

Jeanine Holland, Operations and Outreach Coordinator
jholland@duke.edu 

Judy Seidenstein, Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion
judy.seidenstein@duke.edu

Lori Snider, Administrative Partner
lori.snider@duke.edu

Dane Whicker*, Medical Instructor, Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
dane.whicker@duke.edu

Ophthalmology

Goldis Malek*, Associate Professor in Ophthalmology
gmalek@duke.edu

Orthopaedics

Ashley Poole+, Medical Instructor in Orthopaedic Surgery
ashley.poole@duke.edu

Erica Taylor*, Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery
erica.taylor@duke.edu 

Pathology

Anne Buckley*, Associate Professor, Pathology Clinical Services
anne.buckley@duke.edu

Pediatrics

Victoria Parente*, Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
victoria.parente@duke.edu

Delbert Wigfall*, Professor of Pediatrics
delbert.wigfall@duke.edu

Pharmacology & Cancer Biology

James Alvarez*, Assistant Professor
james.alvarez@duke.edu

Physician Assistant Program

Lovest Alexander*, Assistant Professor in Family Medicine and Community Health
lovest.alexander@duke.edu

Population Health Sciences

Tomi Akinyemiju*, Associate Professor
tomi.akinyemiju@duke.edu

Private Diagnostic Clinics (PDC)

 

Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Ernestine Briggs-King*, Associate Professor, Child & Fam Mental Health & Dev Neuro
brigg014@mc.duke.edu

Christine Marx+,  Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Science
christine.marx@duke.edu

Lynn Labuda*, Senior Business Manager
lynn.labuda@duke.edu

Dane Whicker*, Medical Instructor, Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
dane.whicker@duke.edu

Annise Weaver*, Administrative Manager
annise.weaver@duke.edu

Radiation Oncology

Nicole Larrier*, Associate Professor
nicole.larrier@duke.edu

Radiology

Connie Kim*, Assistant Professor of Radiology
Connie.Kim@duke.edu

Laura Heyneman*, Professor of Radiology
Laura.Heyneman@duke.edu

School of Medicine

Nicholas Jeffreys+, Director, Human Resources
nicholas.jeffreys@duke.edu

Surgery

Linda Cendales*, Associate Professor of Surgery
linda.cendales@duke.edu

Kunoor Jain-Spangler, Assistant Professor of Surgery
kunoor.jain-spangler@duke.edu